Vikings win Shelton flag football crown

Pictured are the champion Vikings (front, left to right) Trevor McMahon, Nathan Greene, Nathan Walsh, Michael Capizzuto, Austin Fernandes, Noah Pamias, (second row) coach Bino Barrozo, coach John Fahey, Giovanni Albaladejo, Owen Gannon, Julian Martinez, Ryan Kinik, Daniel Morel, Cameron McMahon, Liam Kieley, head coach Luke Philippas, assistant head coach Mike Kinik, (third row) Anthony Murray, Connor Fahey, Beni Ferrer, Danny Capizzuto, Pat Cavalieri, Andrew Solomon, (back row) Andrew Mecca, Tommy Capizzuto, Luke Barrozo (captain), Griffin Allen, Michael Kinik (captain), Jimmy Capizzuto and Matt Greene. Missing are Kyle Wicker, AJ Albaladejo, Cooper Buckmir, Coach Time Kieley, coach George Buckmir and coach Casey Brennan.

Shelton Flag Football held its annual Bowl Day on Nov. 3. Bowl Day is a celebration of the league and the players and their families — and the Vikings earned the championship crown.

The day starts with two opening games in the JV/Varsity Division and four games held at the Micro Division. The championship for varsity was a matchup between two 10-1 teams. The #1 seeded Vikings took on the #2 seeded Dolphins. Both teams battled each other all season splitting regular season matchups and determining first place by way of a Kansas City Shootout at the end of the season.

The Vikings jumped out front early and continued the scoring opening up a 35-6 lead early in the second half. The Dolphins kept fighting and went on a run pulling within one score 35-28 late in the fourth quarter. The Vikings found the end zone one more time for a 42-28 lead and sealed the game with an interception on the Dolphins final drive.

Shelton Flag Football has been a part of the local community since the 1970s. Check them out at