Vote Tuesday 6 a.m.-8 p.m.; See a list of candidates on the Shelton ballot

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 5; Polls open from 6 a.m.-8 p.m.

Following are the candidates who will appear on the municipal election ballot in Shelton. Polls will be open from 6 a.m.-8 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 5.

Republican candidates are identified with an (R), and Democrats with a (D). Republicans will appear on the top line of the local ballot.




Mark A. Lauretti (R)*

David M. Gioiello (D)


Board of Aldermen

(vote for any two in your ward)


First Ward

Gene Kierce (R)

Anthony F. Simonetti* (R)

John “Jack” Finn* (D)


Second Ward

Stanley J. Kudej* (R)

Eric J. McPherson* (R)

Michelle B. Bialek (D)

Ralph J. Matto (D)

Third Ward

John F. Anglace Jr.* (R)

Lynn S. Farrell* (R)

Judson W. Crawford (D)

Chris Jones (D)


Fourth Ward

Noreen M. McGorty* (R)

John P. Papa* (R)

Pauline D. Dyer (D)



Raymond O’Leary* (R)

Bob Lalley (D)

Board of Education

(vote for any nine)

John J. Francino-Quinn* (R)

Mark S. Holden* (R)

Thomas R. Minotti* (R)

Win Oppel* (R)

Kathy Yolish* (R)

Faith B. Hack (D)

Kate Kutash (D)

Arlene Liscinsky* (D)

Elaine W. Matto (D)

Timothy J. Walsh III* (D)


Planning and Zoning Commission (four years)

(vote for any three)

Ruth M. Parkins* (R)

Anthony S. Pogoda* (R)

Nancy E. Dickal (D)

Jimmy Tickey (D)

NOTE: An earlier version of this P&Z (four years) listing had said “vote for any two” due to an error in the ballot that has since been corrected.


P&Z Commission (two years)

(vote for any two)

Virginia M. Harger* (R)

Thomas P. McGorty* (R)


P&Z Alternate

(vote for any two)

Ned Miller* (R)

Frank M. Osak (D)


Board of Apportionment and Taxation

(vote for any six)

John Belden Jr.* (R)

Charlotte Madar* (R)

Joseph J. Palmucci (R)

Louis J. Dagostine III (D)

Joseph J. Knapik (D)

John “Jay” Zikaras (D)

Library Board

(vote for any two)

Barbara W. Glover* (R)

Aleta Minor* (R)

Denese A. Deeds (D)