Gaelettes cap successful campaign at banquet

The Shelton High School girls tennis team held its annual post season awards banquet on June 18.

The 2014 team posted a 9-7 record, qualifying for the SCC team tournament with a seed position of five out of eight positions.

Shelton was defeated by the score of 4-3 by fourth-seeded North Haven.

The team also qualified for the CIAC team tournament, facing Simsbury High, where the Gaelettes were defeated by the score of 4-3.

“A few more points that go our way, we win both these post-season matches,” head coach Michelle Sedlock said.

Sedlock said she was extremely pleased with the teams post-season play. Winning individual matches in state tourney play were No. 2 singles Ashley Varrone.

She defeated her Simsbury opponent in a hard-fought, three-set match. Varrone’s play at Simsbury was “outstanding” Sedlock said.

Also playing well were No. 4 seed singles player Sejal Bhargava.

“Sejal stepped into fill a starting position at the Simsbury match and did a great job and brought us a big win,” Sedlock said.

And at the No. 2 doubles position, Kristen Ferris and Vicki Dortenzio were also victorious.

At the SCC tourney match, the Shelton doubles teams were all winners— including Alex Gumbs/Emily Rogalin, No. 1 seed, Ferris/Dortenzio, No. 2 seed and third-seed winners were Sam Rubio/Alexis Zhitomi.

At the CIAC Individual Open tournament, Shelton was represented by Gumbs/Rogalin, who won their first-round match against Seymour and then were beaten in second-round play by Amity.

Ferris/Dortenzio also won their first-round match against Avon and were beaten in round two by Ridgefield.

At the annual awards banquet the following players were awarded the following:

Scholar Athlete, Rigel Mahmood

Gaelette Award, Laura Ferris

Coaches award of Excellence, Alex Gumbs/Emily Rogalin

Outstanding Position award, Kristen Ferris/Vicki Dortenzio

Sportsmanship award, Samantha Rubio

Courage award, Anna May

All-league first-team selection, Rigel Mahmood, Division I

All SCC-All Academic team, Alex Gumbs

Varsity jacket winners, Maryana Hnyp, Kristen Ferris and Vicki Dortenzio

Varsity letter, Alexis Zhitomi

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© Copyright 2018 Hearst Media Services Connecticut, LLC

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress