Shelton Police Department gets two new sergeants

Two Shelton police officers have been promoted to the rank of sergeant — Mark Siglinger and Brian Yerzak.

They were recently sworn into their new positions during a Shelton Police Department promotion and recognition ceremony at the Shelton Senior Center.

Two other department members — Matthew J. Kunkel and William T. Serrano — were made sergeants in 2014 and also recognized at the ceremony (read more about them in a future article).

Sgt. Mark Siglinger's background

Mark Siglinger is a lifelong resident of Shelton and a 28-year veteran of the Shelton Police Department. He was a volunteer Shelton firefighter and has attended Mattatuck Community College.

Siglinger currently is assigned to the traffic division. He became a certified instructor for AAA’s driver improvement program, helping the Shelton Police Department to be presented with a Silver Award for its outstanding traffic safety programs from the American Automobile Association regional affiliate.

Sgt. Brian Yerzak's background

Brian Yerzak was hired as a Shelton police officer in 2006. He graduated number one in his academy class and received the Samuel Luciano Award for outstanding academic achievement.

During his career, Yerzak has been a field training officer and worked as an investigator in the detective bureau. He attended the Fairfield County Detective School and graduated number one in his class.

Yerzak earned bachelor’s degrees in forensic science and chemistry from the University of New Haven and a master’s degree in education from the University of Bridgeport.

Honor guard salute

During the March 26 police promotion and recognition ceremony, city Emergency Management Director Michael Maglione served as master of ceremonies. Mayor Mark Lauretti and Police Chief Joel Hurliman also spoke at the event.

There was an honor guard salute and Francesca Scarpa from Center Stage Theatre sang the National Anthem and God Bless America.

Three department members were honored for 30 or more years of service, commendations were awarded for extraordinary actions, and eight members were promoted.

Look for more details and photos from the ceremony on this website in the coming days.

Click below to read about other police department members recognized at the event:

Capts. Kozlowsky and Sequeira:

Det. DeBrum:

Officers Eldridge and Norris:

Chief Hurliman:

Sgt. Zaksewicz: