A show featuring the music of the 1970s will be performed April 19 to May 12 at Bridgeport’s Downtown Cabaret Theatre. Performances are on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

The show, “8-Track: The Sounds of the 70s,” is described as “a fast-paced musical romp through one of the most impassioned decades of the 20th century.”

Presented completely in song, four performers interweave music “that is joyously rousing, moving, and often downright hilarious” to give everyone an opportunity to re-discover the forgotten decade, according to publicity material.

The Carpenters to Doobie Brothers

Audiences will remember how good it felt to wear polyester leisure suits, flowered shirts, halter tops, wrap-around skirts and platform shoes; and boogie to the music of The Emotions, The Carpenters, LaBelle, Barry Manilow, Marvin Gaye, The Doobie Brothers, The Bee Gees, Helen Reddy, K.C. & The Sunshine Band and others.

The show was first performed at Downtown Cabaret Theatre a number of years ago.

Performance times

Performances are:

Saturday, April 20 at 5:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 20 at 8:30 p.m.

Sunday, April 21 at 5:30 p.m.

Friday, April 26 at 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 27 at 5:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 27 at 8:30 p.m.

Sunday, April 28 at 5:30 p.m.

Friday, May 3 at 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 4 at 5:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 4 at 8:30 p.m.

Sunday, May 5 at 5:30 p.m.

Friday, May 10 at 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 11 at 5:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 11 at 8:30 p.m.

Sunday, May 12 at 5:30 p.m.

To purchase tickets

Reserved tickets for all performances are $39.50 to $47 each. Reserve by phone at 203-576-1636, online at downtowncabaret.org, or in person at the box office, 263 Golden Hill St., Bridgeport (box office hours: 10:30 a.m.-5 p.m., Sunday to Saturday).