Shelton fire company and youth director being honored

A Shelton voluntary fire company and the outgoing Shelton youth director will honored at the 49th annual meeting of TEAM Inc.

The breakfast meeting will take place Friday, Oct. 10 at Grassy Hill Lodge, 77 Sodom Lane, Derby.

Echo Hose Hook & Ladder Company will receive the 2014 Partnership Award for its coordination of the response to January’s Howe Avenue fire that left 23 households homeless.

Julie Penry, retiring director of the Shelton Youth Service Bureau, will receive the Lillian Chrostwoski Award for her work developing programs for community teens and youth.

Event speaker is U.S. Sen. Murphy

The event’s speaker will be U.S. Sen. Christopher Murphy, who will receive TEAM’s Chairman’s Award for his support of programs that help area residents battle the impact of poverty.

Registration is at 7:45 a.m. and the meeting will end at 9:30 a.m.

The meeting is open to the public. The cost is $35, including the meal. Reservations are required by Sept. 26 by contacting Silvia Paytas at 203-736-5420, ext. 202, or

War on Poverty anniversary

This is TEAM’s 49th annual meeting and 2014 marks the 50th anniversary of President Lyndon Johnson’s initiation of his Great Society program, a campaign to combat poverty.

Known also as the beginning of the War on Poverty, the effort created legislation to assist economically vulnerable families. Those programs — Medicare, Medicaid, Food Stamps and Head Start — form the backbone of today’s federal safety net for families.

TEAM president is retiring

The annual meeting is also the final one for TEAM President and CEO Richard Knoll, who will retire at the end of the year after 34 years of service.

The agency’s new president and CEO will be introduced by the board of directors at the meeting.

TEAM Inc. is a private, non-profit corporation that helps individuals and families achieve well-being, self-sufficiency and full participation in the community.

The agency serves the communities of Shelton, Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Bethany, Derby, Milford, Orange, Oxford, Seymour and Woodbridge.