Shelton resident being honored by CT Women’s Hall of Fame

Shelton resident Teresa Younger will be honored by the Connecticut Women’s Hall of Fame (CWHF) during a Nov. 6 event.

Younger is executive director of the state Permanent Commission on the Status of Women, an agency that focuses on women’s equality. She is known for her expertise in women’s economic security, health and safety, and the elimination of gender discrimination.

Nine other women also will be recognized as Education and Empowerment honorees during the 20th annual induction ceremony and celebration, “Women’s Education: Women’s Empowerment,” at the Connecticut Convention Center in Hartford

“As we mark 20 years of highlighting remarkable women’s stories,” said CWHF Executive Director Katherine Wiltshire, “we celebrate the incredible community we are building to inspire the next generation and women of all ages

Younger active with Girl Scouts

A lifelong Girl Scout, Younger recently finished two terms as board president of the Girl Scouts of Connecticut. She serves on several other boards, including the Women’s Campaign School at Yale and the Universal Health Care Foundation of Connecticut.

She has been recognized with awards for her commitment to civil rights and civil liberties, such as the Charter Oak Cultural Center’s Social Justice Award and the Alpha Kappa Alpha New Haven Chapter’s Excellence in Leadership Award.

The Hartford Business Journal has named Younger one of its “8 Remarkable Women in Business,” and the Connecticut NAACP has selected her twice as one of its “100 Most Influential Blacks in the State of Connecticut.”

Recognizing achievement

The Connecticut Women’s Hall of Fame is an educational outreach organization that works to publicly honor the achievement of Connecticut women, preserve their stories, educate the public, and inspire the continued achievements of women and girls.

The organization was founded in 1994 in Hartford and has 102 inductees, with its website ( serving as an important historical resource.

This year’s CWHF inductees are Rosa DeLauro, a 12-term U.S. representative whose district includes part of Shelton; Barbara Hackman Franklin, former U.S. commerce secretary; Linda Koch Lorimer, vice president of Yale University; and Augusta Lewis Troup, a union organizer, journalist and promoter of the suffrage movement.