Shelton to get federal funds for Sandy Hook police role

Shelton is among the municipalities that will receive some federal compensation for law enforcement costs related to the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting last December.

The U.S. Justice Department’s Bureau of Justice Assistance will provide $2.5 million to the Connecticut State Police, Newtown Police Department, and other partner law enforcement agencies that provided assistance in response to the Newtown incident in which 20 first-grade students and six educators were killed.

The funding will compensate the agencies and jurisdictions for costs related to overtime, forensics and security during — and in the aftermath — of the crime, according to an Aug. 28 announcement by U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder.

“Providing support to the law enforcement agencies that responded to the horrific scene that awaited them at Sandy Hook Elementary School is one small action we can take to bring healing to a community that’s been devastated,” Holder said. “Just over eight months after this senseless tragedy, those who lost their lives, and those who continue to grieve, remain in our thoughts and prayers.”

How the money is being distributed

The breakdown of the funding will be as follows:

— Town of Monroe, $882,812

— Connecticut State Police, $663,444

— Town of Newtown, $602,293

— Partner law enforcement agencies, $296,836

In the aftermath of the Dec. 14 shooting, Sandy Hook Elementary has been temporarily moved to a former school building in Monroe, which is why that town will receive so much of the funding. The Monroe Police Department has provided much of the security at the temporary Sandy Hook Elementary School facility, while other Monroe municipal employees — such as school officials and public workers personnel — also have been involved in setting up the temporary school location.

In addition to Shelton, the other partner law enforcement agencies being compensated are from Avon, Bethel, Bloomfield, Bridgeport, Brookfield, Clinton, Coventry, Danbury, Darien, Easton, Fairfield, Glastonbury, Groton, Meriden, Middletown, New Britain, Newington, New Canaan, New Milford, Norwalk, Orange, Plainville, Redding, Ridgefield, Seymour, Southington, Stratford, Trumball, Waterbury, Watertown, Wilton, Weston and Wolcott.

‘Tireless work’

According to Acting U.S. Attorney for Connecticut Deirdre M. Daly, “This critical funding will compensate the Connecticut State Police and Newtown Police Department for their tireless work investigating this crime, as well as more than two dozen police departments from across the state whose officers responded to Newtown within minutes of this horrific act and, for months, helped to provide security and comfort to a courageous community.”

The federal funds are being made available through the U.S. Justice Department’s Edward Byrne Justice Assistance Grant Program.