High school students named to National Honor Society

Fifty-nine students were inducted into the Shelton High School National Honor Society on Wednesday, Dec. 5.

The student-led ceremony began with a welcome by NHS vice-president Tyler Tice. Following dinner, Shelton High School Headmaster Dr. Beth Smith offered congratulatory remarks.

“These students meet the high academic and behavioral expectations as set forth in our school’s mission statement. It is now their job to be living examples of scho­larship, leadership, service and character,” she said. “We are proud of our inductees and expect them to continue to strive for excellence.”

The following students were inducted: Izabela Abissi, Betiana Bargas, Anna Alvarado, Thomas Ball, Victoria Begley, Alessandra Boisvert, Hudson Boles, Bree Callahan, Cara Capoccitti, Rachel Cataudella, Erika Conte, Liam Cummings, Connor Donnegan, Casey Douglas, James Farrell, Henry Feroce, Alyson Ferrante, Laura Ferris and Emily Gaetano.

Also: Kaitlyn Giangregorio, Alexandria Gumbs, Emma Hanrahan, Maeve Holler, Myles Hoponick, John Hunter, Erin Johnson, Alyssa Johnson, Jake Johnson, Jan Kocur, Danielle Letendre, Marcelina Lombardi, Jacob Mabee, Casey Maffucci, Timothy Maloney, Matthew Manzo, Cortney Maud, Madison McCurdy, Lauren Montagna, Michael Ortoli, Elida Paiz, Christopher Patrick, Michael Pingree, Alexandra Pirhala, Nina Respeto, Emily Rogalin, Brittany Russo, Kristian Schif, Carly Seamon, Kristen Sewell, Lauren Shearer, Gajaan Sittabalam, Emma Sweeney, Aleksandra Szczesna, Judith Taylor, Shannon Toole, Michael Torres, Jessica Wilm, Rebecca Wise and Rebecca Zaleski.