Shelton HS grad wins retired teacher scholarship

Greater Bridgeport Retired Teachers Association awarded 15 scholarships of $1,000 each to graduating seniors from the 15 public high schools in the eight towns represented by the Association. The annual practice recognizes deserving students who intend to pursue a career in education.

Based on scholarship, citizenship and community service, the monetary awards are funded by the retired educational professionals who believe in giving back to those who will follow in their footsteps.

Winners for 2015 include the following:

from Shelton—Victoria Conlin (Shelton High School)

from Bridgeport—Selena Rodriguez (Bassick High School), Samantha Gonzalez (Bullard Havens Technical School), Bella

Lopez-Silva (Central High School), Joshua Perez (Harding High School)

from Easton—Cynthia Clement (Joel Barlow High School)

from Fairfield—Liam Raftery (Fairfield Ludlowe High School, Claire Conway (Fairfield Warde High School)

from Milford—Michaela Smith (Joseph Foran High School), Ashley Irvine (Jonathan Law High School), Erin Jackson (Platt

Technical High School)

from Monroe—Cesar Poma-Rodriguez (Masuk High School)

from Stratford—Thomas Petrahai (Bunnell High School), Zane Carey (Stratford High School)

from Trumbull—Danielle McGillicuddy (Trumbull High School)