Shelton’s state LEGO robotics champs receive congratulations

The Perry Hill Dominators robotics team was honored at a recent Board of Education (BOE) meeting for being the 2013 First LEGO League (FLL) state champions.

The team of sixth-graders from Perry Hill School won a competition held in early December at Central Connecticut State University, with 51 teams participating.

“We’re so proud of you,” School Supt. Freeman Burr said at the meeting, while reading off a list of the teams’s many accomplishments.

The students attended the meeting, dressed in their team T-shirts, and were given a standing ovation and personal handshake from BOE members.

Members of the Perry Hill Dominators (also known as the Ph.D.’s) are Jake Daxner, Justin Gidwani, Siddarth Jain, Keegan McDonough, Amelia Nankervis, David Niski, Megan Pereira, Ian Pleasant, Anish Rajamanickam and Anayna Yadav.

‘Nature’s Fury’ competition theme

At the FLL state championship, the Ph.D.’s designed and tested LEGO Mindstorms robot for the “Nature’s Fury” competition theme.

The team researched and presented a fire suppression system using low-frequency sound waves.

Mark Holden, BOE chairman, urged people to attend robotics competitions. “They all work together as a team,” Holden said of youngsters on the robotics teams.

‘They have worked so hard’

John Niski, a program advisor, said the efforts by the Ph.D.’s has involved extensive research as well as teamwork activities.

“What an incredible group of students,” Niski said. “They have worked so hard.”

Niski said the team may be invited to the North American Invitational robotics competition, set for San Diego in May.

Coaches, advisors and sponsors

Adult coaches of the Perry Hill Dominators are Kamal Jain, Peter Nankervis and Vijay Vir. Program advisors are Faylynn Haight, Michelle Piccolo and John Niski.

Program sponsors are Barnum Engineered Systems, Cytec Corp., Valley Community Foundation and the Shelton BOE.