Perillo wins reelection, Shelton favors Romney, McMahon

While President Barack Obama won Connecticut, In Shelton, Republican Mitt Romney won with 56% of the vote.

Romeny received 9,741 votes while 7,758 in Shelton voted for Obama.

In the race for U.S. Senate, Linda McMahon won Shelton with 9,706 votes to Chris Murphy’s 7,268.

McMahon was unsuccessful statewide, however, and Murphy won the election.

While Shelton favored Republican candidates overall, Congressman Jim Himes (D-4) won Shelton’s support, with 8,647 votes to Steve Obsitnik’s 7,830 votes.

Himes was successfully reelected to the seat.

State Rep. Jason Perillo (R-113) won reelection. Perillo was the only state incumbent being challenged. Perillo won 6,031 votes to Democrat Elaine Matto’s 2,563 votes.

State Sen. Kevin Kelly and State Rep Larry Miller (R-122) ran uncontested.

Perillo thanked his team at Republican Headquarters on Center Street Tuesday night, giving special thanks to his father and wife, Becky.

“My mom and dad taught me what public service is all about and Becky lets me do it,” Perillo said.

“I thank Shelton residents for another change to go to Hartford,” he said

Perillo was first elected in 2007 and currently serves as Ranking Member (Republican Leader) of the legislature’s Public Health Committee.

Voter turnout for this year’s election is about 75%.