Shelton aldermen are sworn into new terms

The eight members of the Shelton Board of Aldermen, above, take the oath of office during the inauguration ceremony on Tuesday night at the Shelton Senior Center. (Photos by Brad Durrell)

From left are Jack Finn (First Ward), Eric McPherson (Second Ward), Anthony F. Simonetti (First Ward), Stanley Kudej (Second Ward), Lynn Farrell (Third Ward), John F. Anglace Jr. (Third Ward), John P. Papa (Fourth Ward), and Noreen McGorty (Fourth Ward).

All the members were just re-elected to new two-year terms. Finn, now beginning his 15th term, remains the only Democrat on the Republican-controlled legislative body.

After the inauguration ceremony, a special Board of Aldermen organizational meeting was held in front of the crowd and Anglace was re-elected as the board’s president and Papa was re-elected as vice president.

The votes to fill the two leadership positions by board members were unanimous.