Ortoli honored as standout scholar-athlete

The 54th anniversary of the Casey-O’Brien New Haven County Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Scholar Athlete dinner will be held on Friday, April 11, at Fantasia Banquet Facility, 404 Washington Ave., North Haven.

A reception will be held at 5:30 p.m. with the march to the head table at 6:30.

Twenty-nine high school and prep school scholar athletes will be honored for academic excellence, leadership and citizenship, including Michael Ortoli of Shelton High School.

Thomas Brockett of Ansonia High School will receive the Chapter Coach of the Year Award.

The Chargers won 43 games in a row over the past three seasons including a 15-0 record this past year winning the Class S State Championship and being voted the No. 1 team in the State of Connecticut.

The Chapter Award of Merit will be presented to Donald Scharf of Madison, a founding member of the New Haven Chapter who is a 55-year member of the National Football Foundation.

The Official Recognition Award of the New Haven Football Officials Association will be presented to long time football official Bill Slater of West Haven.

Former SCSU coach Rich Cavanaugh will receive a Special Recognition Award for his 29 years as head coach of the Owls and his service to the chapter.

Tickets can be purchased for $45 by sending a check made payable to National Football Foundation to Donna Limone, 10 Ludlow Court, Branford, Ct. 06405 or by calling her at 203-481-8375. Information about the chapter, including past award winners, can be found at newhavenfootballfoundation.com.