Six elected to National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Six outstanding individuals from the Connecticut wrestling community have been selected for induction into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

The Connecticut chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame will hold an induction dinner on Saturday, April 20 at MGM Grand Hotel at Foxwoods Resort Casino to honor these men for their contribution to the sport of wrestling and our communities. The six men to be honored are:

*John Chacho, the former coach at Staples High in Westport and former official.

*Frank Chaves, the former coach at Simsbury High and a current official.

*Ken DeStefanis, the former coach at Central Connecticut State University and current youth wrestling club coach.

*Staff Sergeant Joseph Kapacziewski, a former wrestler at Bristol Eastern High, who is currently an Army Ranger. He has been on multiple deployments to Iraq and Afghanistan.

*Bernard Nasser, a long-time official and former coach at Fitch High in Groton.

*Ricky Shook, the coach at Danbury High School.

Chacho, Chaves, Destefanis, Nasser and Shook will receive a Lifetime Achievement award for coaches, officials, media or contributors with at least 20 years of service.

Kapacziewski is being honored with a Medal of Courage, an award for a wrestler or former wrestler who has overcome insurmountable challenges.

Each award recipient will be permanently recognized at the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in Stillwater, Okla. with an embossed name plaque, and each receives a plaque and jacket to commemorate the very special occasion.

These six will join 29 other inductees from Connecticut in the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

Tickets for the banquet are on sale now for $85 each and are available online through

For further information, visit